Mayawati files nomination for Rajya Sabha with ‘double’ the riches

November 28, 2019

first_imgMayawati may have lost the crown, but not her riches. In fact, in the last five years, the former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo has more than doubled her assets.In 2007, when she swept to power in Uttar Pradesh, Mayawati was worth Rs 52.27 crore. On Tuesday, when she declared her assets while filing nomination for the Rajya Sabha, it had multiplied to a whopping Rs 111.64 crore. In the last two years alone, her wealth seemed to have jumped by Rs 24 crore.The BSP president, who is facing a disproportionate assets case, owns two commercial space in New Delhi’s Connaught Place worth Rs 18.84 crore, while her house in the Capital’s Sardar Patel Marg is valued at Rs 61.86 crore. She also has a bungalow in Lucknow worth Rs 15.68 crore besides a commercial property at Okhla Phase-1.Surprisingly, the purchase date of the Delhi bungalow was shown as July 6, 2009 while that of the Lucknow bungalow on November 3, 2010.After filing her nomination Mayawati said: “Now I will raise the issues concerning Uttar Pradesh in Parliament because my party feels it will be a better platform to raise those issues.”She also expressed confidence that the BSP would do well in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.”My party workers feel that I do not need to devote all my time here (in UP). They have promised me that they will ensure a massive victory for the party in the Lok Sabha elections,” Mayawati said. “I will devote time to increase the party’s base across India.”advertisementMunkad Ali, who was recently appointed as the party’s coordinator for western Uttar Pradesh, also filed his nomination for the House of Elders. This will be his second term in the Rajya Sabha. Speculations were rife that the BSP supremo would field her close confidant Shashank Shekhar Singh (former cabinet secretary). Instead, she chose Ali.Notification for the biennial elections for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats from UP was issued on Monday and the last date of filing nominations is March 19. The term of the 10 Rajya Sabha members from the state would expire on April 2.Out of the 10 seats, Samajwadi Party (SP) has six members, followed by the BSP and the BJP with two each. “The papers will be scrutinised on March 20 and if required, elections will be held on March 31,” returning officer, principal secretary (assembly), Pradeep Kumar Dubey, said.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *